Starting March 23, 2018, Microsoft are giving you new ways to govern access of external users. As part of this update, external users will no longer be able to see content that has been Shared with Everyone, All Authenticated Users, or All Forms Users, even if they have been invited or added to authorized groups.
In SharePoint Online and OneDrive for Business, sharing resources (files, folders, sites, etc.) with external users is accomplished by sending an invitation to the users directly, or adding them to groups and granting appropriate access levels. As a result, an external user would only see the content that has been shared with the user or with groups to which the user belongs.
After March 23, 2018, external users will no longer see content that has been shared with Everyone, All Authenticated Users, or All Forms Users. Only a small number of tenancies use this permissions model to grant access to their specific external invited guests. Content that has been permissioned to these groups will, by default, be visible only to your users within your organization’s tenancy.
If you would like to allow external users the ability to see content that has been shared with Everyone, All Authenticated Users, or All Forms Users within your organization’s tenancy, as administrator, you still have the ability to do so.
Disclosure: Some of the links on are "affiliate links", a link with a special tracking code. This means if you click on an affiliate link and purchase the item, we will receive an affiliate commission. The price of the item is the same whether it is an affiliate link or not. Regardless, we only recommend products or services we believe will add value to our readers. By using the affiliate links, you are helping support the VOUdeals website, and we genuinely appreciate your support.
Tags: Microsoft, Office 365